1937 - 1947 - Ceylon

George VI

The second son (born 1895 December 14th) of King George V, succeeded to the throne as George VI on 1936 December 12th following the abdication of his brother Edward VIII, and was crowned on 1937 May 12th King of the United Kingdom and Emperor of India until his death on 1952 February 6th. The Title Emperor of India was omitted after 1948.

A number of changes in the coinage resulted from the effects of World War II (1939-1945). Proclamation of Governor dated

The obverse of the coin carries crowned head to left. with the legend GEORGE VI KING AND EMPEROR OF INDIA Designer Percy Metcalfe initials P M in relief below the truncation on some but not all issues. The reverse is varied, and a transition from older to new designs.
silver issue demonetized 1942/43
KM112 Ten Cent silver coin
KM114 Fifty Cent silver coin
Copper issue
KM110 Half Cent copper coin
KM111 One Cent copper coin
KM111a One Cent bronze Thin coin
KM117 Two Cent nickel-brass coin
KM113 Five Cent nickel-brass coin
KM118 Ten Cent nickel-brass coin
KM115 TwentyFive Cent nickel-brass coin
KM116 Fifty Cent nickel-brass coin

Although the official issue of this coin type should have ended with independence in 1948, the coin was reminted in 1951 using the last issue year of the coin 50 and 25 cents (1943); 10 cents (1944); 5 and 1 cents (1945).
The 1945 5 and 1 cents was also reminted between 1959-1962. The Five cents of 1951 type was issued only as a Proof and was not put into circulation and was Lanka's first NCLT.

There is no way to distinguish the reminted coins from the older issue. The yearly mintage figures are from the Annual Reports of the Royal Mint and extracts from Board Meeting minutes of the Central Bank of Ceylon.

It is interesting to note that Indian Silver and copper coins of George VI like those of George V do not have OF INDIA, like seen on Ceylon and most other commonwealth nations maybe because INDIA is already mentioned on Indian coins. Those which were already independent which used IND. IMP as on British coins. Edward VII also used no OF INDIA on any coins I presume as he was considered Emperor of the British Empire.

All coins produced during the reign of King George VI minted for use in colonial locations use a crowned head while issues designed for use in the U.K. and commonwealth places such as South Africa, Canada, Australia, and New Zealand featured an uncrowned head. The crowned head was however also used for King George VI coins issued in Ceylon in 1951 after independence. The crown was removed in the Queen Elizabeth coin of 1955.

Text edited from
* The Coins of the British Commonwealth of Nations
 F. Pridmore, London, Spink & Son Ltd., 1960.