Dutch Ceilon - 1660-1720

Wreath Series Copper Dumps

Struck at Colombo, Jaffnapatnam and Negapatnam?, the Wreath series copper dump coins there are three well-defined types, apparently belonging to issues of the three different Mints.

From a Res. of Colombo dated Dec. 1, 1791 It appears that "for at least 40 or 50 and surely many more years Doits (1/4 Stuivers) and Dudus (Stuivers) struck earlier at Jaffnapatnam were in circulation. These must have been of type C, which, therefore, will have been struck long before 1741.

Although "Tammecas" (thambacassi = Copper Coin in Sinhala) was the name for a 1/2 Stuiver, here it is used as a general term for "copper coins from Ceylon" [The word "Dudu" (tuttu) was also used for copper coins in the general sense In official documents (e.g., Dudu of I doit). "Bazaruco" seems to have been the general term for lead coins.] whose weight corresponded with that of the Tammecas. If we assume that type B was coined at Negapatnam about 1675, then those of types Aa and Ab were struck at Colombo.

Edited from
The Coins of the Dutch Overseas Territories- 1601-1948
  C. Scholten, 1953, Amsterdam: Jacques Schulman.